BIM 360 Design Collaboration Update – Dec 12, 2018

December 12, 2018 Markus Briglmeir

We are pleased to announce another release of some great new features and enhancements to BIM 360 Design Collaboration.

These include:

  • Add Packages to Document sets in Document Management to enable downstream workflows
  • Additional permission level ‘Control’ for team administration
  • Manage Master Model: Select the master model to use for levels and phases.
  • Delete unused teams and team folders
  • Hypermodel Navigation: Mini-map and 3D views icons
  • Change Visualization: Directly compare your team’s work-in-progress
  • Change Visualization: Compare packages directly from timeline
  • Change Visualization: Timeline shows which packages are compared
  • Usability: Most recent team viewed on the timeline is remembered
  • Scheduled publish of Revit models

 

Add Packages to Document sets

Packages can be assigned to an existing set in Document Management now, enabling downstream workflows such as document review. This is possible for the own team’s packages through the package share dialog, or from the package overview when a package is selected from the timeline. A user needs to have the new BIM 360 Design Collaboration control permission level (or is an admin user).

 

Additional permission level ‘Control’ for team administration

A new permission level for team administration tasks with ‘View + edit + share + control’ has been added. This enables an user for example to add the content of a shared package to a Document Set

Note: This permission level adds the Document Management ‘Control’ permission to the team folder and the Shared folder of that team.

 

Manage Master Model to use for levels and phases

Admin users now can define which model provides the level and the phase information for the project, which is used for the level and phase panel of the aggregated project model. The dialog to select the master model lists all models from within the Shared folder.

Note: until now, the largest model (after model publishing) has been used as the default master model. This will still be the case if no model is defined by an admin user.

 

Delete unused teams and team folders

Project administrators now can delete a team completely from BIM 360 Design Collaboration if that team hasn’t shared or consumed any package. Optional that team’s folders can be deleted as well. That feature has been requested by admin users, in cases where teams have been created for test purposes, or with an unintended team name.

 

Hypermodel Navigation: Mini-map

Use the new mini-map feature to identify your location in a 3D model and orient the viewing angle. The mini-map is available once a model is explored in first person mode. It’s based on the building level a user is exploring, and changes accordingly if another level is explored.

 

Hypermodel Navigation: 3D views icons

When exploring the project model now icons for 3D views will be shown. These represent view point and view direction of camera views and 3D views. They are published with the usual publishing process of Revit view sets. Clicking on them in the project model will give a preview, and then open that 3D view for exploring. This new capability allows faster understanding and accessing relevant views directly from the aggregated project model without the need to find it in the sheet list of the content browser. Note: The ‘Back to last view’ button brings you back to the project model.

 

Change Visualization: Directly compare your team’s work-in-progress

Until now, change visualization has only been available between packages. With this release, understanding changes within your own work-in-progress data is possible as well. While exploring your own teams designs, simply select ‘Show changes’, the current design is compared then again the previously shared version of it.

 

 

Change Visualization: Compare packages directly from timeline

You can now compare packages without opening or exploring the package first. This provides a more direct access to understand progress between packages of the own, or other collaborating teams. Additionally, the timeline now shows prominently which packages are compared.

 

Usability when being member of multiple teams

If you are a member of multiple teams you can switch between teams on the timeline. Now the most recent team viewed on the timeline is saved the next time you sign in.

 

Scheduled publish of Revit models: Schedule a regular, automated publish of a team’s work  

Admin users can now schedule a regular, automated publish of a team’s work using the Schedule Publish option in the Project Admin module. This allows you to get the latest work from a team, without the need to open Revit or Design Collaboration.

Note: Even if you schedule a regular publish, you can still use the Update to Latest command from the team space in Design Collaboration to publish in the interim.

As always, we are curious to hear your feedback, so please leave your comments, ideas and thoughts here, or on the BIM 360 Design Collaboration forum.

Markus & the BIM 360 Design Collaboration team

Previous Article
BIM 360 Design Collaboration Update – Jan 15, 2019
BIM 360 Design Collaboration Update – Jan 15, 2019

Hi all, We are pleased to announce the release of some more new features and enhancements to BIM 360 Design...

No More Articles